About Us

About Us


The organization of the Roman Catholic Church in Northern Ontario and Quebec began in 1882 with the establishment of the Apostolic Vicariate of Pontiac. This vicariate became the Diocese of Pembroke in 1898 without changing its boundaries. In 1908, the northern part of the Diocese of Pembroke as far as the forty-seventh parallel (latitude 47) was established as the Apostolic Vicariate of Timiskaming. The same territory became the Diocese of Haileybury in 1915. The Diocese of Haileybury was divided when the Apostolic Vicariate of Northern Ontario was established in 1919. In 1938, the Diocese of Amos was established and the Diocese of Haileybury became the Diocese of Timmins. The Bishop’s residence and diocesan services remained in Haileybury. There was another division in 1974 establishing the Diocese of Rouyn-Noranda. The Bishop’s residence and diocesan offices were moved to Timmins in 1975.

The Diocese of Timmins (established in 1915 under the name of Diocese of Haileybury) has had the following Bishops:

Most Rev. Elie-Anicet LATULIPE


Most Rev. Louis RHÉAUME, O.M.I.


Most Rev. Maxime TESSIER


Most Rev. Jacques LANDRIAULT


Most Rev. Gilles CAZABON, O.M.I.


Most Rev. Paul MARCHAND, S.M.M.


Most Rev. Serge POITRAS